2022 Municipal Election - Monday, October 24, 2022

The upcoming Municipal Election to elect a Mayor and Town Councillors will be held on Monday, October 24, 2022.

Are you on the Voters List for the upcoming Municipal Election in October 2022?
Visit voterlookup.ca to confirm, update your information, or add a name to your property address.

Are You Eligible to Run for and Hold Office?

You may run for a Council position if you are eligible to vote in the election and fulfill all of the following requirements below:

Mayor and Council

You are a resident of the municipality, a non-resident owner or tenant of land in the municipality or the spouse of such non-resident owner or tenant;

  • You are a Canadian citizen;
  • You are least 18 years old;
  • You are not legally prohibited from voting, and; 
  • You are not disqualified by any legislation from holding municipal office.

It is the responsibility of the Candidate to determine whether or not they are eligible to run for and hold municipal or school board office.

If you are satisfied that you meet the prescribed requirements, as set out in the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, and wish to campaign for office you must first file with the Clerk’s Office, located at the Town Hall, 30 King Street East, Gananoque, ON, during the Nomination Period (beginning Monday, May 2, 2022, (Monday to Friday from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM) up to and including Friday August 19, 2022 at 2:00 PM.  Candidates are asked to book an appointment with the Clerk's Office at 613-382-2149 ext. 1120 or via email at clerk@gananoque.ca, to submit their nomination paperwork.

The following documents are required to file:

1.  Form 1 - Nomination Paper

2.  Form EL18(A) - Declaration of Qualifications - signed by the candidate

3.  Form TG02 - Consent to Release Personal Information - signed by the candidate

4.  Nomination Fee:  $200 for Mayor and $100 for Councillor. 

Accepted forms of payment are:

  • Debit
  • Certified Cheque or Money Order, made payable to the Town of Gananoque. 

The nomination filing fee is refunded when a candidate submits their Financial Statement (and Auditor's Report, if applicable) in March 2023.

A candidate cannot raise or spend any money on their campaign until the Nomination Paper has been filed.

NOTE:  The prescribed Endorsement of Nomination - Form 2 is not required to be submitted with Nomination Papers, as the Town of Gananoque's number of eligible electors are below the legislated minimum number of 4,000.

Additional Information and Websites:

2022 Candidates' Guide

2022 Voter's Guide